Ian Peake Award Winners 2018

The 2018 winners of the Ian Peake Award in the Department of Infection, Immunity & Cardiovascular Disease (IICD) were Mr Jonny Coates and Miss Elisabeth Kugler, PhD students supervised by Dr Iwan Evans and Professor Tim Chico respectively.

Emeritus Professor Ian Peake (right) presenting Jonny Coates with his well deserved award.

Jonny and Elisabeth each received £300 in Amazon vouchers and Jonny received his award in person by Emeritus Professor Ian Peake at the Department Christmas Ramble on 18th December 2018. Elisabeth (who was not in attendance at the Christmas event) received her award after the event.

Jonny was nominated by Iwan Evans for all his selfless hard work supporting the Evan’s lab and beyond. Jonny has arranged countless activities and courses in BMS, was a key member of the iGEM competition entry and he is always willing and able to help others. In particular Jonny assisted Iwan in the preparation of preliminary data for his fellowship extension application and he supervised the lab SSC student singlehandedly (who enjoyed the experience so much she now volunteers in the lab in her spare time).

Elisabeth was nominated by Vikki Ridger for her hard work establishing the IICD Student Society (alongside other colleagues) alongside making excellent progress in her PhD, in which she has discovered a novel form of endothelial cell behaviour termed Kugeln formation.

Tim Chico Head of IICD commented “these two students are very worthy winners of these awards as they have both supported and undertaken tasks outside of their research which are over and above what is expected. Congratulations to them both!”